if this post doesn’t make you hungry…

I can’t cook to save my life. But I can appreciate good food and this post is devoted to it. My husband is the Chef at South Water Kitchen and I will brag shamelessly because I did everything in my power to help him to get there. A great chef needs a great critic and I was always went out of my way to sample his food and give him an honest opinion about his dishes! These days, it’s a lot more difficult to be critical of his work. His 12 years of dedication in the kitchen have paid off, as you will see from these photos—a sample of his new spring menu.

These are a few unedited photos from a shoot I did at the restaurant. The restaurant had very low lighting, no natural light  and with no external flash, this was the best I could do. For the next shoot, I’d love your suggestions on how to avoid getting the light spots on the plate like the ones in this photo…

 

DSC_9544

 

 

DSC_9654

 

 

DSC_9571

 

 

DSC_9582

 

Main Courses at South Water Kitchen

Herb Roasted Chicken
whipped potatoes, baby carrots, snow peas, fresh herb gravy

Beer Braised Pork Belly
grilled grit cake, coriander carrot puree, natural jus

Gunthorp Farms Duck Breast
pistachios, apricot quinoa, apricot glaze

Grilled Coho Salmon
sweet corn succotash, watercress, whole grain mustard butter

Wild Rice Stuffed Red Pepper
sweet corm, cilantro, smoked tomatillo sauce

Pan Seared Halibut
fiddlehead ferns, wild mushrooms, sweet onion puree

14 oz. Kansas City Strip Steak
onion bread pudding, house made gardiniera, oregano demi

Grilled Rack of Lamb
leek gratin, garlic seared swiss chard, roasted shallot demi

Seared Sea Scallops
yukon potato & bacon hash, cippolini onions, black pepper cream

Mushroom Ravioli
sundried tomato pesto, asparagus, tarragon cream

Lake Trout
meyer lemon farro risotto, green beans, toasted almonds

About this entry