throwing rocks

Being part of the digital photography world is amazing. It allows amateurs who borrow or save up for a nice camera to get out there and experiment. With hard work and dedication, we can compete with the professionals. We can use photo programs to fix as well as learn from our mistakes. I fit into this category. Although I am still learning the terminology and techniques, my years of experimenting has led to professional quality work. You can find one of my published photos here.

These weeks of warm sunny days in Chicago have been inspiring. I did some experimenting myself and took some shots of my son on a Chicago beach. I let him lead the photo shoot because he is the most receptive to photos that way. I took a lot of shots standing behind him because it was less invasive yet true to the moment and still personal. It wasn’t warm enough to swim but it was a great moment to grab the biggest rocks we could find and watch them attack the water before they were captured by the gooey moss and sand. The next morning, I discovered most of the sand made its way into my son’s shoes, socks and clothing. It didn’t bother him in the least that he slept on a bed sand and rocks that he must have snuck home somehow.

I haven’t done any edits to these photos yet. They are my experiments photographing with light, shadows, and capturing movement. If one stands out to you, I’d love to know!

DSC_9333

DSC_9335

DSC_9352

DSC_9355

DSC_9359

DSC_9361

DSC_9362

DSC_9369

DSC_9376

DSC_9380

DSC_9383

DSC_9392

DSC_9397

DSC_9410

About this entry