have you ever seen a cuter chef?

In between finishing holiday cards and shopping, I  photographed an event for the Kimpton Women’s Group this week. It took place at South Water Kitchen’s banquet room—a very quaint room with dim lights that set the scene for an ideal party or intimate group meeting. The large picture windows send in reflections of Chicago’s scenery, which at this time of year, is holiday lights and last minute shoppers.

Working with the lowly lit room and the reflections of street lights made it a challenge to bring the experience to you in a photograph. Here is my attempt…

DSC_8459

DSC_8488

The chefs, who happen to be my husband and four year old, prepared for the demonstration by putting on their chef coats and setting up the food.

DSC_8465

Here are some photos of the two chefs working diligently on their demonstration.  When my husband asked the group if they had any questions, my son answered immediately with “I have a question. Can I get sketchers for Christmas because they make you run faster?!”

DSC_8477

DSC_8490

DSC_8529DSC_8541DSC_8577DSC_8582

They demonstrated some staples on the South Water Kitchen menu, such as the Beet Salad and Macaroni and Cheese (a favorite of Miss America’s). Also, they made an addictive Chicken Salad with dried cranberries and sage. The dessert was a sneak peak of what’s to come on the winter menu, Chocolate bread pudding with peppermint ice cream.

DSC_8536

DSC_8548

DSC_8567

DSC_8580

DSC_8592

My son and I don’t get to spend as much time as we would like with my husband because chefs put in a lot of working hours. So, to have the opportunity to work together really makes this holiday season a special one…one I think will be memorable for the Kimpton Women’s group, as well as for our little family!

I did the best I could photographing in a low light situation without any fancy equipment…if you have a suggestion of something I should be aware of for my next photography session, I’d love to hear it!

About this entry