blending colors

The salon looks the same as it did for the past ten years: stylist chairs lined up, climazone, hair products displayed at the stations. My color is only a month old but faded from swimming. My colorist, who is also a good friend, prefers when I go more often so I don’t get bars (distinct lines from where the roots meet the previous color) when the color grows out.

He grabs his foils and mixes a color. The assistant asks what color he’s doing this time and I tell him I don’t know. My head is a canvas and they use the latest colors and techniques.

Suburban clientele are usually shocked when they see the crazy colors and asymmetrical shapes that they use to create my hairstyle.

“That’s going to look different,” a client mentions to her stylist two chairs down from where I’m sitting. Soft feminine blond. Purple. Magenta. These are the colors of the moment—and they change as often as I can come in for color.

Another client paces back and forth asking my colorist questions and he slips the foils under sections of hair, applying the magenta mixture with a brush from roots to ends, like he’s basting the strands with color.  She leans over and whispers in my ear, “Do you know you have pink hair?”

There are two locations in the Chicagoland area for the Sassoon, as well as an advanced academy. When I go to the location in the suburbs, I always get intense reactions on the color. The suburbs are a short distance from the city but a different world when it comes to hair. I stand out along with the kids who experiment with kool-aid in their hair—people act like they’ve never seen someone with bright hair colors before in their lives.

 

DSC_2496

I love my pink hair. I love that I can change my look with the seasons. I love that I have good friends in the hair industry. I will never blend in with the crowd and that’s the plan!

 

Have you ever done something with your hair or appearance to make yourself stand out? Any interesting reactions?

About this entry