glimpse of a life

little red schoolhouse 015

photo by tara m waysok

 

Back in August 2010, I blogged about random things going on in my life (this week’s scattered reflections). I had sad moments scattered along with all the quirky, fun everyday ones.

I don’t like writing about the sad ones. Subconsciously, I think, “hey, if I don’t write about this, maybe it’ll just pass?” But sometimes it needs to be done—so yesterday I wrote the third eulogy I’ve written in my life. And tomorrow I will read it. I wish I could blink and pretend these moments didn’t happen and my loved ones are still here guiding me and loving me like they did so often. Even though I know they will always be around as long as I keep their memories alive, it doesn’t make it any easier.

I write the eulogies because I feel like it’s my job as a writer to put into words what most of the loved ones are feeling and can’t express. Maybe I can trigger memories that could have been forgotten. Or show them a side of the person that they didn’t know. Though putting someone’s life into one page is daunting, I try to capture a glimpse of her life with an honest heartfelt approach.  One way to reveal how easy it is for one person to touch so many lives.

About this entry