too much stress

226 

I wrote this blog the other night…Sorry for the delayed post…

Ever feel like so much is going on that you might lose control of everything? That’s how I felt this week. I kept saying, if one more thing comes up, I won’t be able to handle it. Then the “one more thing” would pop up. Somehow I would handle it because the strength of ten women explodes out of nowhere and gets me through it all.

I didn’t lose control of everything. I got through most the events and emergencies (a couple more appointments next week and I get a little break). But all the work that I do for myself fell out the window. I didn’t have time to blog or workout. I didn’t do any work for my online class. I didn’t even enjoy the brief moments I spent on social networking sites.

The time change took a toll on my schedule. When I was child-free, an extra hour used to be amazing. But with a three year old who wakes up at the same time every morning, 8AM is now 7AM. Then 7AM became 6AM because he decided to go to fall asleep earlier in the evening. Since I work on my projects at night, sometimes until 3AM, I haven’t been too fond of the early mornings!

After a month of holding it together, it all fell apart today. With the lack of sleep taking its toll, I looked like a ball of stress. My little boy said, “What’s wrong, mama?”

I needed a day like today to refocus.—to wind down and focus on the balance I’m searching for.  When my 3 year old senses that I’m overwhelmed, that’s when it’s time to take a deep breath and focus on what really matters.

For the first time in 11 years, I had to turn down a modeling job because I didn’t have the extra three days to devote to the project.  When I got the phone call asking me if I could give them the extra day they needed, it tore me apart to say no. It’ll tear me up again when I see the photos of the event.

If life wasn’t stressful, then it would be dull and uninviting. But what I wouldn’t give for one stress-free week to recover from it all. Is that too much to ask?

About this entry