to fellow writers on a journey

After re-reading On the Road, by Jack Kerouac, I am reminded about the search for identity. This search is defined by my writing and creative work. Whether it’s through traveling, work, friends or experiences, it always helps to surround yourself with positive advice to help you on your journey.

As I read my writing newsletters, I came across an article for writers called How to Keep Yourself on Track by Beth Ann Erickson. You can find the article here: Filbert Publishing – current. Erickson gives writers the tips that we’ve all heard before but it doesn’t hurt to read an occasional reminder. The most important tip: “Simply Write.” Check out her article for more tips…

Also, Kerouac had a list of 30 essentials for writers. “You are a Genius all of the time” stands out the most to me. I am a tough critic when it comes to my own work. If I take Kerouac’s advice, I would write without an evil critic standing over my shoulder. The words would land on the page with ease and I wouldn’t be able to hit the delete button until days after I get them down.

I’m battling with the idea that I am a “genius” because my inner critic is never far behind. Can I get my write without self-criticism, without judgment, without fear? I’ll keep you posted…

Are you a writer? A traveler? I’d love to hear about your journey…

About this entry